COVID Recovery Taskforce

To help replace lost revenues, cover COVID-related expenses, and reverse the economic impacts of this pandemic, the City of Albany was allocated approximately $85 million as part of President Biden’s American Rescue Plan. On March 12, 2021, Mayor Sheehan announced the creation of a COVID Recovery Task Force to ensure the City of Albany equitably and strategically maximizes the resources available to our residents, businesses, and community organizations thanks to the American Rescue Plan to restart Albany and build back better. The Mayor appointed Mike Whalen, Administrative Vice President of M&T Bank, and Jahkeen Hoke, Executive Director of Business For Good Foundation, as Co-Chairs of the City’s COVID Recovery Task Force.

The City is projected to face significant revenue impacts due to the pandemic between 2020 and 2024 that will require the majority of the American Rescue Plan funding, in its effort to re-imagine its workspaces and work force for a post-pandemic world.   Beyond this much-needed relief for fiscal stress and operations, a  portion of the stimulus package will be set aside to ensure we get resources where they are needed to restart Albany, re-open businesses, prevent evictions and strengthen our not-for-profit organizations. The Task Force will help provide recommendations to the City of Albany about how to invest this funding through a lens of equity.

Four Main Objectives: 

  1. Obtain a shared understanding of how the American Rescue Plan can help the City of Albany
  2. Identify the needs of the City of Albany residents, businesses, and non-profit organizations that cannot be covered by other funding sources
  3. Equitably and strategically maximize resources available to our residents, businesses, and community organizations to restart Albany and build back better
  4. Engage every sector of the City of Albany to ensure we get resources where they are needed to restart Albany, re-open businesses, prevent evictions, and strengthen our not-for-profit organizations

Task Force Members 

The COVID Recovery Task Force members are identified below. This Task Force includes a diverse group of people representing a myriad of institutions, community organizations and neighborhoods. It is important that we approach this work with a deep sense of civic duty to our residents, particularly those who have been disproportionately impacted by structural barriers. The City of Albany and Mayor Sheehan extend their gratitude to the following individuals for committing to lend their time, expertise, and resources to this initiative.

  • Kaweeda Adams Albany City Schools
  • Faye Andrews Albany Community Development Agency
  • Hon. Dr. Dorcey Applyrs Chief City Auditor
  • Kate Baker Small Business Administration
  • Hon. Alfredo Balarin Albany Common Councilmember
  • Carm Basile Capital District Transportation Authority
  • Bob Belber ASM Global/Times Union Center
  • Neenah Bland Albany Community Action Partnership
  • Tricia Brown North Atlantic States Regional Council of Carpenters
  • Jeff Buell Redburn Development 
  • Michael Castellana SEFCU
  • Chiquita D'Arbeau Albany Housing Authority
  • Mark Egan Capital Region Chamber
  • Hon. Corey Ellis Albany Common Council President
  • Hon. Sonia Frederick Albany Common Councilmember
  • Anthony Gaddy Upstate New York Black Chamber of Commerce
  • Peter Gannon United Way of the Greater Capital Region
  • Tammis Groft Albany Institute of History and Art
  • Jahkeen Hoke Business for Good Foundation
  • Kevin Hicks Albany County Airport Authority
  • Micky Jimenez Capital District Latinos
  • Hon. Andrew Joyce Albany County Legislature Chairman
  • Anna Kuwabara Albany Symphony
  • Eileen Larrabee Open Space Institute
  • Angelo Maddox Fresh & Fly Clothing 
  • Hon. Daniel McCoy Albany County Executive
  • Dr. Dennis McKenna Albany Medical Center
  • Tracy Metzger TL Metzger & Associates, LLC
  • Giovanni Otero Salvation Army
  • Matthew Peter Albany Parking Authority 
  • Dominick purnomo Yono's/DP's
  • Dr. Roger Ramsammy Hudson Valley Community College
  • Sarah Reginelli Capitalize Albany
  • Hon. Jahmel Robinson Albany Common Councilmember
  • Dr. Havidan Rodriguez SUNY, University at Albany
  • Hon. Darius Shahinfar City of Albany Treasurer
  • Hon. Kathy Sheehan Mayor, City of Albany
  • Nolene Smith Baby Institute
  • Georgette Steffens Downtown Business Improvement District
  • Raphael Tucker City of Albany Youth and Workforce Services
  • Michael Whalen M&T Bank

Announcements & Press Releases

Meeting Schedule

Given the important nature of this work, the Task Force is planning on holding in-person, socially distanced meetings at the Times Union Center Media Room beginning on Friday, April 23 at 1:00 PM thanks to ASM Global, the Times Union Center, and Albany County. The anticipated timeline for the Task Force is as follows:

COVID Recovery Task Force Time Line

Kick off Meeting – April 23, 2021

Meeting Materials & Reports

Kickoff Meeting Presentation - April 23, 2021

Kickoff Meeting Minutes - April 23, 2021