News Flash Home
The original item was published from 4/15/2021 10:02:06 AM to 9/1/2021 12:00:05 AM.

News Flash


Posted on: April 15, 2021

[ARCHIVED] Treasurer Shahinfar Announces Final County Action to Delay Late Penalties for City Property Taxes

Contact: Darius Shahnifar  
518-434-5036 (wk) 
518-928-1374 (c)  

ALBANY, NYAlbany City Treasurer Darius Shahinfar announced that legislation, introduced at his request and passed by the Albany Common Council on February 18, 2021, was passed by the Albany County Legislature on Monday, April 12, 2021.  This legislation finalizes the ability of City of Albany property owners to delay payment of their 2021 tax bills without penalty until May 31, 2021, 120 days beyond the usual due date.

“In these difficult times, the ability to pay one’s property taxes late without penalty has already proven to be a big help to property owners who have suffered during this pandemic.  I want to thank Legislature Chair Andrew Joyce, Majority Leader Dennis Feeney, Finance Committee Chair Wanda Willingham and County Legislator Matt Peter for their efforts to get this passed by the Albany County Legislature as quickly as possible”, said Shahinfar

“Throughout COVID, so many of our residents have been struggling financially, and passing this legislation is critical during these challenging times," said Albany Mayor Kathy Sheehan. "I want to thank Albany Treasurer Shahinfar for developing this innovative solution, the Common Council for quickly passing the local law, and the Albany County Legislature for their swift response on this matter that will allow our residents more time to pay their property taxes.”  

 “The Albany County Legislature continues to support efforts to help mitigate the ongoing effects this pandemic is having on our residents.  Families should not have to worry about being penalized for needed extra time to make their property tax payments.  I want to thank my colleagues in the Legislature and the City of Albany for addressing this issue so quickly,” said Albany County Legislature Chairman Andrew Joyce

"With the pandemic financially and emotionally impacting families and impeding their ability to pay property taxes on time, it is critical that we lessen the financial burden on our residents. Imposing additional penalties, fines and fees on people who are unable to pay property taxes on time buries people under unnecessary debt. Albany County residents should not be financially penalized for a global pandemic that was completely out of their control. We must allow property owners extra time to pay their taxes," said Wanda Willingham, Chairwoman of the Audit and Finance Committee

“I am proud to have been able to work with City of Albany Treasurer Darius Shahinfar and Albany Mayor Kathy Sheehan to bring needed relief to property owners who need a little more time after having fallen behind in paying their taxes.” said Albany County Legislator Matthew Peter “The unanimous passage of this important law could only be accomplished  thanks to the leadership of Chairman of the Legislature Andrew Joyce, Majority Leader Dennis Feeney and Audit and Finance Chair Wanda Willingham.”  

Although payments had been accepted by the City Treasurer without penalty since February 18, the County action provided the final authorization of the delay of penalty.  This legislation was made possible by Governor Cuomo’s signing of a state law (Real Property Tax Law, article 19-A) on January 30, 2021 permitting localities to delay late penalties on tax bills for up to 120 days.  Individuals who pay their first installment by May 31, 2021 in person, online, or by mail (with a May 31 postmark) may pay either the full amount or the first installment payment without any interest penalty.  Regular penalties will apply beginning on June 1.  The City will send all unpaid bills in early May to notify anyone of the ability to pay without penalty until May 31.   

More information can be found at or by calling 518-434-5006. 


Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in News