News Flash Home
The original item was published from 12/1/2021 12:50:39 PM to 12/1/2021 12:52:28 PM.

News Flash


Posted on: December 1, 2021

[ARCHIVED] Mayors of Albany, Schenectady & Troy Urge Redistricting Commission


RGB_JPEG_ALT_AlbanyLogo_-04-04Schenectady sealTroy Seal
David GalinAlex SutherlandJohn Salka

SCHENECTADY – Albany Mayor Kathy Sheehan, Schenectady Mayor Gary McCarthy, and Troy Mayor Patrick have sent a joint-letter to the New York State Independent Redistricting Commission to ensure all three cities remain in the same Congressional district. The Tri-City mayors made the announcement Wednesday during a press conference at Schenectady City Hall.

The New York State Legislature tasked the Commission with crafting new Congressional maps as a result of the 2020 Census while also considering existing districts and communities of interest that share “enough social and economic interests of importance that suggest said community should be included in a single district for effective and fair representation.”

Albany Mayor Kathy Sheehan said, “Albany, Schenectady, and Troy work together constantly to not only combat important quality-of-life issues faced by our residents but also to advocate for the necessary funding to make transformative investments in our cities. Our three cities are separated by approximately 20 miles and share many of the same challenges and opportunities, and separating us into two Congressional districts will have dire consequences for not only our cities but our entire region. I implore the New York State Independent Redistricting Commission to ensure the three largest cities in our contiguous counties remain in the same Congressional district.”

Schenectady Mayor Gary McCarthy said, “As mayors of the Capital Region’s three largest cities, we frequently work together on a range of issues facing our residents. Whether it be our shared transportation networks, infrastructure projects, economic development, or regional planning initiatives, we cannot afford to dilute a unified approach to the shared social and economic interests of our region. Our communities share a strong, common history and only by continuing to work together with a unified front can we most effectively move our region forward.”

Troy Mayor Patrick Madden said, “The communities of Albany, Schenectady, and Troy are strong partners that collaborate on common issues impacting our neighborhoods and residents. We benefit greatly from our shared Congressional district which allows us to advocate for critical federal funding for targeted investments in vital services like public transportation, schools, and infrastructure. Separating the three largest cities into two separate Congressional districts will significantly impact our respective cities and the entire region. We urge the New York State Independent Redistricting Commission to preserve the single Congressional seat for the Capital Region’s three largest cities and maintain the most effective federal representation possible for our residents."

Under one of the Commission’s draft plans, the Capital Region’s three cities were divided into two separate districts, with the City of Schenectady drawn into a Congressional district that also includes Sullivan County, the City of Binghamton, and parts of Madison County near the suburbs of Syracuse.

The Commission will host their final statewide virtual public hearing on Sunday, December 5th at 2:00pm. Members of the public may submit testimony, comments, and maps until then. The Commission is scheduled to send a final map proposal and report to the New York State Legislature on Monday, January 3rd. 


Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in News